The Team

Ashley Moore

Ashley Moore

Editor in Chief

Originally from Oklahoma, Ashley is a writer, editor, and educator based in Berlin and Bayreuth. Find Ashley's work in the bold indie publications Ashley most respects.

ashley@sandjournal.com

Ruby Mason

Ruby Mason

Managing Editor

Ruby grew up in rural England and moved to Berlin in 2015. She spends her days translating and writing subtitles, and her evenings and weekends on various short-lived hobbies.

ruby@sandjournal.com

Sara Anwar

Sara Anwar

Editorial Coordinator

Sara Anwar is a writer, musician and technical product manager living in Berlin. She’s currently seemingly not paying enough attention to her cat but is also learning to assert her own needs better.

sara@sandjournal.com

Alia Zapparova

Alia Zapparova

Art Editor

Alia was born in Moscow, spent many years in London and currently lives among piles of books in Berlin. She is an artist working between image and text and searching for poetics in the everyday.

alia@sandjournal.com

Emma C Lawson

Emma C Lawson

Poetry Editor

Emma grew up in the Northern Isles and studied literature in Edinburgh. When not editing or tutoring, she can be found in Berlin's libraries writing about animals.

emma@sandjournal.com

Crista Siglin

Crista Siglin

Poetry Editor

Crista studied painting and creative writing at the Kansas City Art Institute. Her poetry chapbook Fleeting, Sacred is out from Spartan Press.

crista@sandjournal.com

Melissa Richer

Melissa Richer

Creative Nonfiction Editor

Melissa is a writer, editor, and designer who moved to Berlin from California in 2016. She is definitely reading too many books at once. Her work can be found online and in print.

melissa@sandjournal.com

Patrice Liang

Patrice Liang

Creative Nonfiction Editor

Patrice grew up in Taipei and spent a decade in New York before moving to Berlin. She is a writer and software developer exploring outsider perspectives and unexpected storytelling.

patrice@sandjournal.com

Anne-Sophie Balzer

Anne-Sophie Balzer

Creative Nonfiction Editor

Anne-Sophie is a journalist, researcher, poet, and admirer of all things wild. She fled Berlin to live in Norway for a while before settling for Bavaria. There, she works at the university of Augsburg pursuing a PhD on the topic of glaciers and poetry.

anne-sophie@sandjournal.com

Siena Powers

Siena Powers

Fiction Editor

Born in New England, Siena works in various areas researching, writing, and doing stuff with audio. She loves painting, theatre, Russian novels, and making large amounts of linguini while listening to Mariah Carey.

siena@sandjournal.com

Dženana Vucic

Dženana Vucic

Fiction Editor

Dženana Vucic is a Bosnian-Australian writer, editor and critic. She's supposed to be working on a book, but mostly she's reading.

dzenana@sandjournal.com

Ambika Thompson

Ambika Thompson

Fiction Editor

Ambika's favourite colour is rainbow and they have a black cat that is a witch. They have an MFA in Creative Writing from Guelph University (Canada) and their fiction has been published in several international publications. They also are a musician, a parent and a wannabe comedian.

ambika@sandjournal.com

Déborah-Loïs Séry

Déborah-Loïs Séry

Designer

Born and raised in Lyon, France, Déborah-Loïs came to Berlin in 2019. She specialises in print and typography, working on several mediums to stay generous & surprising as much as she can.

deborah@sandjournal.com

Natalia Dumont

Natalia Dumont

Distribution & Funding Coordinator

Natalia is originally from Buenos Aires and has lived in Neukölln since 2014. She loves to read and she loves to travel but, unfortunately, has not been able to make either her full-time job.

natalia@sandjournal.com

Christina Wegener

Christina Wegener

Verein Coordinator

Christina is from Berlin. She organizes literary events and works for a nonprofit, after having studied literature in Berlin, Havana, and Barcelona.