Berlin Writing Prize

19 September 2017

Dolores Walshe wins the 2017 Berlin Writing Prize

The Reader Berlin, The Circus Hotel, and SAND present the 2017 Berlin Writing Prize, sponsored by epubli, The British CouncilElsewhere Journal, and Berlin stationer RSVP. And we are happy to announce that the winner of the fourth edition of this competition is Dolores Walshe. 

Dolores Walshe will be undertaking the residency in Berlin at The Circus Hotel, while our 2 runners up win 2-nights’ accommodation at The Circus Hotel over the weekend of our prize-giving and anthology launch party on February 17th, 2018. The remaining 7 writers will be receiving Reader Berlin goody bags and all of our ten shortlisted authors will be published in an anthology. Furthermore, Dolores’ winning entry will be published in Issue 16 of SAND, which will come out some time this autumn.

Check out the list of the 10 shortlisted pieces here: 

Overall Winner: 

The Wooden Box – Dolores Walshe

2 Runners Up:

Elsewhere, OK – Alissa Jones Nelson

Thirty Six Times – Jodie Noel Vinson

7 Shortlisted Writers:

Flying Lessons – Lei Wang

Head like a Hole – Amy Lee Lillard

Holiday with T – Sophie Mackintosh

Sylvia – Daisy Johnson

The Sunshine State – Lizzie Roberts

Unsettled – Pippa Goldschmidt

Whatever Trevor – Sharlene Teo

The aim of this competition is to promote fresh, original writing and provide a platform for emerging writing talent. This year’s judges include award-winning author Irenosen Okojie (@IrenosenOkojie), author and creative director Michael Salu (@MichelSALU), SAND editor Florian Duijsens (@neonres), writer and publisher Paul Scraton (@underagreysky), and The Circus Hotel’s own Katrin Schönig.

For more check out the website of The Reader Berlin.