Poetry As_A Lens (A Workshop)

35.00

Poets spend hours scrutinizing words on the page. SAND’s three-part virtual event series “Poetic Vision” turns our gaze outward through a poem’s lens. How do poets view visual art, science, and film? How can we creatively channel other media in a text that speaks for itself?

Following our opening webinar on 25 April 2021, “Poems Meet Visual Art, Science, and Film” (available as a replay on Crowdcast if you missed it), anyone who tries one of our guest presenters’ prompts is encouraged to sign up for this workshop with Crista Siglin, one of SAND’s two poetry editors, who is also the coordinator of Poetry As__A Workshop, author of the collection Unpleasable Nature, and a practicing visual artist. During this guided, collaborative workshop, which is capped at 15 participants per session, poets of all experience levels will share, discuss, and hone their pieces. Workshop participants will also have the opportunity to read their poems in our concluding reading, “Intermingled Visions” on Sunday 23 May, which will be livestreamed on YouTube in collaboration with Singapore’s Sing Lit Station. (More information on the whole Poetic Visions event series here.)

  • Length: 2.5 hours
  • Platform: Zoom
  • Price: Sliding scale from €25 to €50

Choose one session:

  • Session a: Saturday 8 May, starting 7pm Berlin / 6pm Dublin / 1pm New York / 11am Denver / 10am Seattle (6pm UTC)
  • Session b: Sunday 9 May, starting 11am Berlin / 10am Dublin / 5pm Singapore (10am UTC)

You can find the writing prompts here.

Deadline to register: Thursday 6 May. After the deadline, Crista will email all registered participants the Zoom link and additional details.

Proceeds will support Crista Siglin and help pay future SAND contributors.

All event artwork by Crista Siglin.

Clear

SKU: N/A Category: Tags: , , ,
Session

Session a. on 8 May, Session b. on 9 May

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Poetry As_A Lens (A Workshop)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *