Flash fiction first published in SAND appeared in four consecutive editions of the Best Small Fictions anthology, the first contemporary anthology solely devoted to honoring the best short hybrid fiction published in a calendar year. Tara L. Masih founded the annual series and serves as series editor; guest editors include  Pulitzer Prize–winning author Robert Olen Butler (2015), PEN/Malamud Award winner and O. Henry Prize winner Stuart Dybek (2016), Rea Award and PEN/Malamud Award winner Amy Hempel (2017), and Pushcart Prize-winning author Aimee Bender (2018).

  • Best Small Fictions 2018 – Featuring two stories originally published in SAND 15, “Knowledge” by Christoph Keller, and “Vesuvius” by Cole Meyer.
  • Best Small Fictions 2017 – Featuring Larry Brown’s “Triangle” from SAND 14 as well as other work by contributors Philip Sterling and Cole Meyer.
  • Best Small Fictions 2016 – Featuring winner Daniel Aristi for “Tempus Fugit” in SAND 11 and semi-finalist Marion Michell for “Cuffs and Collars,” winner of the SAND 12 QUICK.SAND competition.
  • Best Small Fictions 2015 – Featuring winner Kathryn Savage for “Winter” from SAND 10.